Benton Falls and a Serious look at Reconciliation
Day: Sunday June 25, 2017 ● #1

While the frame of reference is a hike to up Benton Falls, in Polk County, Tennessee, the subject matter is reconciliation, and specifically with my father-in-law, a PCA Elder, Jim Cross.

On Sunday, May 27, 2018, almost a year later, the same hike was done with the same friend, but this time not to the falls, but to the lake at the top. We did a bit over 6 miles each way, and about 2000 feet up. It was not constantly up, but up, down, up, etc. Our total distance was fairly close to half a marathon, but not on flat ground.

A delight in the hike was that we both had moments of willingness not to complete our venture. However, the other person offered the encouragement to press on, and when we got to the falls, it was press on almost two more miles to the top. Encouraging one another, what a good idea! While the context is different in 1Th 4:18 and 5:11, If we can’t encourage one another to complete a hike, can we encourage on another to follow the Lord?

The hike in 2018 was a joy. The constant and now many year friendship with another man who continually challenges and encourages me to follow the Lord is an intense joy. Jim Cross has become more distant, and I grieve.

However, I was recently reminded of a quote from Kierkegaard:

Never cease loving a person, and never give up hope for him, for even the prodigal son who had fallen most low, could still be saved; the bitterest enemy and also he who was your friend could again be your friend; love that has grown cold can kindle.

Jim Cross, I continue in my effort to love you as my brother and reconcile with you.

Distinctivist ● “Come now, let us reason together, says the Lord” Isaiah 1:18Distinctivist.Com
● 2017 Reconcile Attempt
You would not exist
Sat, Dec 23, 2017

A question to consider.

Love, Cowardice, Boldness; A Waterboarding Offer
Sun, Dec 17, 2017

Please note that this is dead serious as described and an open offer.

The person who loves you is not your dad it is me!
Sat, Dec 2, 2017

A discussion of 300 consecutive voicemails.

Farmers Market, Store, Marriage
Sat, Sep 30, 2017
Jim Cross - Interpret Scripture with Scripture
Sat, Sep 23, 2017
There is a lot of content on this website in reference to Jim Cross, Sr., my father-in-law. It is now time to be specific, point by point. This first 10 minutes is simply the low hanging fruit.
Torture, Pastors, Elders, and Reconciliation
Thu, Sep 14, 2017

Luke 23:34 “…Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing. …”

Children of War
Sat, Aug 12, 2017
This hits home hard!
Discernment, Contending, Reconciling
Tue, Jul 18, 2017
5 years after the worst day in my life
Wed, Jul 12, 2017
Benton Falls and a Serious look at Reconciliation
Sun, Jun 25, 2017
While the frame of reference is a hike to up Benton Falls, in Polk County, Tennessee, the subject matter is reconciliation, and specifically with my father-in-law, a PCA Elder, Jim Cross.
Gal 2:14 “before them all”
Sat, Jun 24, 2017
Jim Cross - Man to Man
Sat, May 20, 2017
Door remains open
Fri, May 19, 2017
Jim Cross Invitation
Sat, Apr 29, 2017
Broken heart offer
Sat, Apr 15, 2017
Reconcile with Jim Cross
Thu, Mar 16, 2017
Naming Names
Sat, Feb 25, 2017

This is my effort to reconcile. I hope you will find an example of a man who has received the Lord’s mercy and is striving for mutual mercy with others.

Offer Grace
Fri, Jan 27, 2017